Invited speakers



Alberto Amo, Centre de Nanosciences et de Nanotechnologies, CNRS-LPN, Université Paris-Saclay, France

After undergraduate studies at Universidad Autónoma de Madrid in Spain, I obtained a PhD in physics from the same university in 2008 with an experimental project on exciton dynamics in semiconductor heterostructures. Then I did a post-doc at Laboratoire Kastler Brossel in París (2008-2010), where I performed pioneering studies on hydrodynamics of polaritons, including the observation of polariton superfluidity. Since 2010 I have a research position at Centre de Nanosciences et de Nanotechnologies of the CNRS in Marcoussis, France. Here I study, in collaboration with Jacqueline Bloch, non-linear optical phenomena in semiconductor microcavites. In 2012 I received the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Physics of Semiconductors and in 2014 the young physicist award (experimental) granted by the Physics Royal Society of Spain. Since 2013 I lead the ERC Starting Grant HONEYPOL.


Xiaodong Xu, University of Washington, Seattle, USA

Xiaodong Xu is a Boeing Distinguished Associate Professor in the Department of Physics and the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Washington. He received his PhD (Physics, 2008) from the University of Michigan and then performed postdoctoral research (2009-2010) at the Center for Nanoscale Systems at Cornell University. His nanoscale optoelectronics group at University of Washington focuses on creation, control, and understanding of novel device physics based on two-dimensional quantum materials. Selected awards include DAPRA YFA, NSF Early Career Award, DoE Early Career Award, Cottrell Scholar Award, University of Washington Innovation Award, and IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Semiconductor Physics.



Pascale Senellart, Centre de Nanosciences et de Nanotechnologies, CNRS-LPN, Université Paris-Saclay, France

Anthony Bennett, Cambridge Research Laboratory, Toshiba, UK

Anthony Bennett has been a member of the Quantum Information Group at Toshiba Research Europe Ltd in Cambridge UK since 2003. He is currently Team Leader for a group that investigates quantum technologies, nano-photonics and solid state physics. Shortly, he will relocate to the Institute for Compound Semiconductors in Cardiff University.

Mathieu Munsch, Basel University, Siwtzerland

Mathieu Munsch is a research associate at the University of Basel and the CEO of the young start-up Qnami. He obtained his PhD in 2009 in Grenoble the french Tech-Hub located right in the middle of the Alps. He then spent two years at CEA Grenoble, where he developed new photonic waveguides for semiconductor quantum emitters. In 2012 he became research associate in the University of Basel and led several projects from many body spin physics to nano-mechanics to scanning probe microscopy. In 2017, Mathieu took a quantum leap into business and co-founded Qnami. The start-up commercializes quantum sensors in diamond for nanoscale magnetic imaging.

Hamid Ohadi, University of Cambridge, UK

Thomas Lyons, University of Sheffield, UK

Thomas is a PhD student in the Low Dimensional Structures and Devices group at the University of Sheffield, UK, where he researches exciton valley effects in monolayer transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDs), typically through optical and magneto-spectroscopy. Of particular focus is the incorporation of TMD monolayers and associated van der Waals heterostructures into optical microcavities, whereby the strong light-matter coupling regime may be used as a method to probe and control exciton valley relaxation.

David Gershoni, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Professor Gershoni has published more than 160 articles in international journals and has organized and lectured at major international conferences and workshops. In 2004 and in 2010, he received the Technion’s Henry Taub Prize for Excellence in Research, and in 2012 the ISCS Quantum Devices Award for “pioneering research in quantum optics of semiconductor nanostructures, including the first demonstrations of single and entangled photon emissions and the coherent access of the dark exciton.” In 2014 Professor Gershoni received the Landau Prize for Arts and
Sciences in the Physics Category

Bernhard Urbaszek, Laboratoire de Physique et Chemie des Nano-objects, CNRS, Toulouse, France

Bernhard is a Director of Research at CNRS - Toulouse University (LPCNO). His research is focused on 2D semiconductors, spin and valley physics in nano-structures, optical spectroscopy and quantum dots. He did his PhD and postdoc at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh before moving to Toulouse in 2003

Edo Waks, University of Maryland, USA

Meinrad Sidler, Institute for Quantum Electronics, Switzerland

Christof Dietrich, University of Würzburg, Germany

Marc-Alexander Assmann, Technical University of Dortmund, Germany

Dorian Gangloff, University of Cambridge, UK

Dorian is a postdoctoral fellow at the Cavendish laboratory, in the group of Mete Atatüre. His current research is on interfacing quantum optics and mesoscopic spin physics in semiconductor quantum dots. He completed his PhD in 2016 at MIT in the Center for Ultracold Atoms.

 Hui Deng, University of Michigan, USA

Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline (extended):
    18 April 2017
  • Early registration deadline:
    14 August 2017
  • Registration deadline:
    1 September 2017